clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

December Look Ahead

New, comments

After taking care of the surprisingly plucky Bobcats and the surprisingly docile Sixers, the Celtics are riding a nice 8 game winning streak. November also featured a 6 game winning streak. These things happen when you have only two losses.

So will December be as kind to us? Lets take a quick look ahead. Of the 15 games, 7 have records of over .500 (which I've put in bold below). Here is the next week:

Mon, Dec 1 Orlando 7:30 PM
Wed, Dec 3 Indiana 7:30 PM
Fri, Dec 5 Portland 8:00 PM
Sun, Dec 7 @ Indiana 6:00 PM

This week in particular should be interesting. First up is Superman and the very tough Orlando Magic. Perk will have his work cut out for him. Then, the Celtics get a shot at payback playing the Pacers twice in a week. Then we get our first look at the man who captivated our dreams two seasons ago as Portland comes to town. That week alone should be worth watching.

But wait, there's more!

Thu, Dec 11 @ Washington 8:00 PM
Fri, Dec 12 New Orleans 8:00 PM
Mon, Dec 15 Utah 7:30 PM
Wed, Dec 17 @ Atlanta 7:00 PM

After hopefully taking care of the hopeless Wizards, the team faces three teams currently with winning records. First James Posey returns to the Garden with the Hornets. Once Rondo recovers from guarding Chris Paul, he'll have to turn around and face Deron Williams of the Jazz. Finally, the Hawks always seem to play us tough, especially in Atlanta.

Fri, Dec 19 Chicago 7:30 PM
Sun, Dec 21 NY Knicks 6:00 PM
Tue, Dec 23 Philadelphia 7:30 PM

Three formerly great teams that have fallen on hard times lately. Rose might already be the best player on the Bulls roster, the Knicks are in full LeBron-mode, and we know how the Sixers look (though they may be motivated for some payback).

Thu, Dec 25 @ LA Lakers 5:00 PM
Fri, Dec 26 @ Golden State 10:30 PM
Sun, Dec 28 @ Sacramento 9:00 PM
Tue, Dec 30 @ Portland 10:00 PM

Merry Christmas Celtics fans. We get the full ABC treatment, complete with highlights from last year's Finals, interviews galore, and special features on the rivalry renewed. Oh yeah, and there will be a game too. In fact, considering that these are still the two best teams in basketball, this could be the game of the year.

Finishing out the month the team has to watch out for an emotional letdown the day after Christmas against Golden State. They also have to watch out for a little jetlag since they will be in the middle of a West coast swing.

All in all it should be a very interesting month. Great storylines, quality opponents, and plenty of chances to assert themselves as the best team in the land.

P.S. Don't forget, we've got the whole schedule right here on CelticsBlog.